Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Farndon Willow Holt’

Notts Wildlife Trust farndon willow holtOur partners the Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust manage several reserves in the Trent Vale – some of them are unique providing species-rich habitats. One of these sites, Farndon Willow Holt,┬áis a nationally important site that covers almost 10 hectares of flood meadow and grassland and is one of the few remaining working willow holts – a once common feature of many Trent site communities.

Would you like to to help to manage these reserves? Whether you fancy helping out for a few hours or on a regular basis, Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust are looking for volunteers and would love to hear from you. Below is a list of up and coming Trent Vale activities. If you would like to come along or to find out more, please contact Lee Schofield, Reserves Officer on 07801 865671 or email LSchofield@nottswt.co.uk

08 Jul, Thurs at Beacon Hill Reserve, Newark, Ragwort Pulling

15 Jul, Thurs at Besthorpe South, Cut paths & area around hide

14 Aug, Sat at Farndon Willow Holt, Cut meadow areas and in collection

11 Sep, Sat at Besthorpe North, Mow footpaths, coppice invasive willow

30 Sep, Thurs at Besthorpe South, Coppicing around borrow pit, bonfire

07 Oct, Thurs at Besthorpe South, Coppicing around borrow pit, bonfire

09 Oct, Sat at Besthorpe South, Coppicing around borrow pit, bonfire

14 Oct, Thurs at Besthorpe South, Coppicing around Mons Pool

21 Oct, Thurs at Besthorpe South, Coppicing around Mons Pool

13 Nov, Sat at Farndon Willow Holt, Pollarding veteran willows, bonfire

09 Dec, Thurs at Farndon Willow Holt, Harvest Willow in Holt

11 Dec, Sat at Farndon Willow Holt, Harvest Willow in Holt

16 Dec, Thurs at Farndon Willow Holt, Harvest Willow in Holt

23 Dec, Thurs at Farndon Willow Holt, Harvest Willow in Holt & Christmas bonfire

Have a look at our events page on the right for more volunteering activities in the Trent Vale.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »